Like Us on Facebook

帕格尼尼的追思 Paganiniana, Nathan Milstein

帕格尼尼的追思 Paganiniana, 小提琴獨奏變奏曲 Variations for Violin Solo (1954)

米爾斯坦 Nathan Milstein (1904-1992)




Paganiniana, written by the great 20th century violinist Nathan Milstein, draws its themes and variations from Paganini’s 24 Caprices and his 1st violin concerto. When performing, Milstein himself often improvises to his heart’s content, but since then this version published in 1954 has become a canon in the virtuoso violinist’s repertoire.

The main theme, widely popular, is taken from Paganini’s Caprice No. 24 in A minor. It is also used in numerous works by other composers, including Brahms in his Op. 35 Studies and Rachmaninoff in his Op. 43 Rhapsody.

You can listen to Hilary Hahn playing this piece here.

© 2016  Macau Classical Music Society

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.